|Photos of Webley and Mary are from the |
Tillamook County Pioneer Museum
In the fall of 1948, Jack Medcalf, a Salem artist and teacher who was a native of Tillamook, built a small cabin on Bayocean by himself and lived there through the winter. His writings of that experience are at the Tillamook County Pioneer Museum. Jack seemed to enjoy listening to Mrs. Mitchell talk about the Bayocean she knew back in 1907. She told him the area was then known as Barnegat, which meant "place of peace" and that "Webley Hauxhurst built his house down near the cape with a view of both the ocean and the bay through the meadows...that it was a large house, sprawling out but two story. A large fireplace was of rock mortised with clay obtained in the banks of the bay over by Pitcher Point." Nothing of the house remained in 1948.
|A.B.Hallock: OrHi 9824|
Oregon Historical Society
|Homestead Land Claim map pre-Bayocean, scribbles by author|
When Hallock died in 1892 his duties were transferred to Mrs. Bert Biggs according to McArthur, who noted that she was one of Webley Hauxhurst's daughter. Bigg's Homestead Claim # 3471 surrounded Pitcher Point, explaining why the coordinates provided by Sateliteviews.net and other websites refer to that location. The name of the post office was changed to Bayocean in 1909, but the 1910 Federal Census still used Barnegat to identify the precinct.
To find stories about the earlier use of the spit by Tillamook Indians, and its exploration by earlier white men, see the Index page.